Thursday, October 17, 2019

Worthy Kids Books (A Homeschool Crew Review)

Today I get to reintroduce you to a series of books that we have enjoyed in our family and that has recently added two new adventures to the series.  WorthyKids Books has just recently added Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Shepherd's Stone (Book 5) and Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Lion's Roar (Book 6), allowing readers to join Peter, Mary and their dog Hank as they travel back in time to the story of David and Goliath and Daniel in the lion's den.

And be sure to read til the end to find out how you can win all 7 books !!!

About the Series

The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls is a series of children's books written by author M.J. Thomas who came up with the idea to write them after he was disappointed in finding a lack of books that teaches Biblical stories to children in a fun but imaginative way.  Having himself graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Biblical Science from Liberty University, he decided to set out to write a series of books that upheld Biblical accuracy but also included character and adventures to capture the imagination of young readers while teaching them the Bible at the same time.

This resulted in a series of adventures that include elements of time travel and danger as readers follow the story of Peter, his older sister Mary and their dog Hank.  Each book finds the trio deciphering the meaning of riddle hidden in a scroll that was discovered by their Great Uncle, Solomon.  Each school transports the children (and Hank) to a significant event in the Bible where they have a set amount of time to decipher the riddle  of the scroll.

Each paperback book is relatively short in length at roughly 120 pages with cute black line illustrations.  The books are geared towards a reading level of 6-8 years old.  In addition to helping readers learn about popular Bible stories, these books also cover a wide variety of everyday that children can relate to.

The reading level for both books is for grades 1st - 3rd, which while Ashleigh reads well above this grade level, was the perfect reading level for my son who struggles with language arts.  Even though the reading level was lower than Ashleigh's current reading level, she still really enjoyed reading these books independently.

For Garrett, the font size proved to be perfect for him as well which was really great for him as often he has problems following along and losing his place while he reads. The chapters are short and the text is broken up with the line drawing illustrations which helped give him confidence when he was asked to read aloud.  

We really enjoy these books and would highly recommend them for your family library. 

And guess what? You can get your hands on ALL 7 Books!!!  To help promote the newest book, Worthy Kids Books is running a giveaway for all 7 books and will choose three winners to get SIGNED COPIES of the entire series.   Just enter at or click the graphic below. 

For more information about The Secrets of the Hidden Scrolls, be sure to visit the website.  You can also find more information on the following social media sites:

#hsreviews #secretofthehiddenscrolls

Be sure to click the banner below to read more reviews on these two books by other Crew members. 
Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Shepherd's Stone (Book 5) & The Lion's Roar (Book 6) {WorthyKids Books Reviews}

1 comment:

  1. Thanks for reviewing the books! I'm so glad your family enjoyed them.


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...